1. Most Effective Road Safety, Traffic Management & Enforcement Project

This category encompasses all aspects of road safety, traffic management and enforcement. Examples of projects that would qualify are speed management, road space reallocation projects (for example bus lanes) and parking enforcement schemes. We will be looking for results such as casualty reductions, improved journey reliability, modal shift, or congestion reduction.

2. Best Practice in Travel to School and Work Schemes

An entry in this category should demonstrate developments in school and work transport schemes, which have delivered modal shift or improved safety. 


3. The Public Transport Operator of the Year
This Award is open to all rail, bus, taxi and ferry passenger service operators. Entries for this Award should outline the range of initiatives that the operator has been involved in to improve services and facilities together with results that have been achieved


4. Best Bus Service
A submission in this category should demonstrate how changes to bus services and facilities have brought about improvements. An increase in passenger numbers; modal shift; improved customer satisfaction ratings; or improved reliability are all examples of the ways success could be documented.

5. Excellence in Transport Accessibility 
An entry in this category covers projects or initiatives that can demonstrate improved access to travel or the travel experience for disabled people. We will be looking for entries which highlight innovation, the extent to which the proposer has sought to build upon learning through engagement with disabled people, positive team or partnership collaboration, and the extent to which they benefit disabled people who are in hard-to-reach groups. 

6. Excellence in Walking, Public Realm and Cycling
Entries in this category need to demonstrate how particular policies and projects have improved the street environment. Examples of initiatives for this Award include environmental enhancement schemes, pedestrian schemes or parking and warden policies. Before and after photographs help the Judges with this category.

Alternatively, a cycling strategy may form the basis of a submission for this category or an individual scheme, which has brought significant benefits. Increased numbers of people cycling or reduced cycle casualties are two ways that you could document the success of your work.

7. Rail/Road Contractor of the Year

Suppliers of equipment and services to the rail and road industries are eligible to enter this category.  Entrants should demonstrate the benefits accrued from the use of these products and services e.g. increased efficiencies, better integration, improved reliability, decreased crime levels etc.  It may be that you have innovatively applied existing products and services or introduced a new product or service that has traditionally been used outside the rail and road sectors.

8. Contribution to Sustainable Transport
A submission in this category should demonstrate how your organisation has implemented policies to reduce its impact on the environment (for example reduced carbon footprint), supported by clear results. The types of projects that would qualify for this category include the use of alternative vehicle fuels and technologies or freight practices which have resulted in mileage and/or emissions/reductions.

9. Most Innovative Transport Project of the Year
Projects entered into this category need to demonstrate good results- it could be a project that is the first of its kind in Scotland or a project that has been done before but has been approached differently. Projects should stand out as being that bit different.  

10. Excellence in Technology and Innovation

An entry in this category should document how you have employed new technology or a new way of working to bring about great results. Again we need to see evidence that the project has brought about good results, demonstrated benefits to users and or efficencies throughout the operation. Please note that if your project is very recent, we appreciate that results may be limited.

11. Transport Team/Partnership of the Year
A submission in this category should demonstrate how effective team work has brought improvements to transport services or facilities. We will be looking for evidence that working practices, or improved working practices have delivered improvements.

12. Excellence in Travel Information and Marketing
This category covers all areas of transport marketing including information, promotion and travel planning. We will be looking for clear evidence that the approach that you have chosen has brought about results. This may be patronage increases, modal shift or greater awareness of a particular service/ facility, or feature. 

13. Airport of the Year
An entry in this category would provide evidence of excellence or significant improvement in overall performance or provision of facilities over the past 12 months. KPIs and customer satisfaction results will be particularly relevant as evidence of this. We encourage all airports to submit their most recent ASQ scores

14. Frontline Employee of the Year
We're looking for nominations for this award for a frontline member of staff (for example, school crossing patrols, bus drivers, highways inspectors, receptionists) who has gone beyond the call of duty in their role and delivered a better service as a result. The nominee will have demonstrated a real commitment to their service and your nomination will need to outline briefly what they have done to deserve this award, supported with statistical or anecdotal evidence. Supporting letters are useful in this category

15. Excellence in transport design - NEW FOR 2022!
Designs being entered into this category should demonstrate good results There should be evidence the design has potential for flexibility in the future and be environmentally and economically sustainable. Excellence should be demonstrated in innovation, invention, and originality - it could be a design that is the first of its kind in the country and shows that it adds value and stands out above the rest.


16. Lifetime Contribution to Transport