Brilliant Transport Projects and Individuals Praised at the 2020 Virtual Scottish Transport Award Summit

The Scottish Transport Awards looked a little different in 2020. Instead of being announced in the company of 450+ industry professionals to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Glasgow in June, as originally planned, the award winners were announced in a video that was played during the virtual Scottish Transport Awards Summit.

The Scottish Transport Awards Summit took place on 28th October as an all-day virtual conference with over 200 delegates registered.

Cabinet Secretary for Transport, Infrastructure and Connectivity Michael Matheson gave the keynote speech and said:

It was a pleasure to deliver the keynote address at this year's rather unique Scottish Transport Awards Summit. Given the challenges 2020 has brought it was very important to recognise the incredible efforts and achievements of the transport sector. The leadership and dedication shown in responding to the Covid-19 pandemic - keeping our key workers and the nation moving safely, is undoubtedly worthy of thanks and appreciation. Regardless of whether you won an award or not, you have all been successful and I am grateful to all of our unsung heroes for keeping Scotland moving safely during these challenging times.

With the transport industry (as well as most sectors in the UK and internationally) facing unprecedented challenges over the past few months with Covid-19, Transport Times was delighted that the Scottish Transport Awards Summit offered the opportunity to bring together the transport community to recognise and celebrate industry achievements across Scotland.

Stagecoach East Scotland scooped the coveted Public Transport Operator award for a second year running. Since their win in 2019, passenger numbers for the overall Express network increased by 10.29%. Alongside network improvements, new day return tickets were introduced in July 2019 and fares were reduced by up to a third, making luxury coach travel an attractive option for day trippers. In 2019, the company also invested £3.5m in a fleet of 16 innovative electric hybrid buses (adding to the 25 in the fleet) for service 7. The new vehicles, manufactured by ADL, offer greenhouse gas reductions by 30% and are 10-20% more fuel efficient compared to diesel powered buses

Pamela McCluskey a driver for First Scotland East, took away the prize for 'frontline employee of the year' for her heroic actions during her shift when she noticed flames coming from a flat. Immediately concerned for all those inside the block, Pamela brought her bus to a halt nearby and called the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service. While on the phone, she headed to the rear of the flats to assess the extent of the blaze and could see it was spreading towards a property directly above. She entered the building and began banging on all the resident's doors and windows to spread the word and ensure residents evacuated safely. Pamela's real concern was that it was Bonfire Night and she feared that residents may just have attributed the smoke smell to nearby by fireworks being let off. All residents made it out safely and on arrival the fire brigade were full of praise for her swift and instinctive actions which undoubtedly saved multiple lives in the incident.

Another special individual award was given out on the day. Nominated by the judges, the Lifetime Contribution to Transport in Scotland Award went to Robert Andrew who announced his retirement earlier this year.

Robert's career in the bus operating industry spans over 35 years and in that time Robert has progressed from junior roles within the nationalised Scottish Bus Group to become Stagecoach's longest serving Regional Director. Having joined the Group in 1992 Robert went on to be Managing Director of both Fife and Bluebird operations before becoming Regional Director for Scotland then spending periods covering firstly Northern England and then Southern England before returning to Scotland in 2016. From 2017 until 2019 Robert jointly led Stagecoach's UK Bus Division, before reverting to an enhanced Scottish Regional Director position adding Megabus and the Welsh operations in early 2019.

Full list of winners and commendations:-

Most Effective in Road Safety, Traffic Management and Enforcement
City of Edinburgh Council - 20mph Programme

Best Practice in Travel to School and Work Schemes
South Lanarkshire Council - School Travel Plans

Public Transport Operator of the Year
Stagecoach East Scotland

Best Bus Service
Scottish Citylink Coaches - Service 900: Glasgow – Edinburgh

Excellence in Transport Accessibility sponsored by Disability Equality Scotland
Inverness Airport

Excellence in Walking, Public Realm & Cycling
City of Edinburgh Council, Edinburgh Cycle Hire Scheme

Rail/Road Contractor of the Year
BAM Nuttall – Rail Division

Contribution to Sustainable Transport sponsored by Addleshaw Goddard
BOC - BOC's Kittybrewster Hydrogen Refuelling Station

Most Innovative Transport Project of the Year sponsored by West Coast Partnership
BEAR Scotland and Transport Scotland– A83 Rest and Be Thankful Catch-Pits and Glen Kinglas Rock Bunds

Excellence in Technology and Innovation, sponsored by BAM Nuttall
Amey (with Transport Scotland, Strathclyde University and Highland Galvanizers) - Re-Galvanising VRS

Transport Team/ Partnership of the Year
Transport Scotland, ScotRail, Network Rail , Glasgow City Council, Strathclyde Partnership for Transport, Stewart Milne Group and Elmford / Park Lane - The Delivery of Robroyston Rail Station and Park and Ride

Excellence in Travel Information & Marketing
Edinburgh Trams & Scottish Rugby, Successful Partnership Campaign

Airport of the Year
Glasgow Airport Ltd

Frontline Employee of the Year
Pamela McCluskey, Driver, First Scotland East

Highly Commend:

Frank Alexander, First Aberdeen
Garry Boyce, Bus Driver - Bannockburn Depot, First Scotland East
Duncan 'Dunky' Ferguson, ISU team, Scotland Transerv
Hugh Gunn, Caithness Voluntary Group - Caithness Rural Transport
Kayleigh McComb, TRISS Operative, Amey
Stevie Ross, Bus Station Controller, Stagecoach Highlands
Matty Tunnock, Driver, Lothian

Lifetime Contribution to Transport in Scotland
Robert Andrew

For further information contact Transport Times Events
Tel: 0207 828 3804
Email: [email protected]

Notes to editors
1. The Scottish Transport Awards organised by Transport Times Events, are supported by the Scottish Government and Transport Scotland.

2. The awards ceremony is usually held as a dinner in Glasgow in June. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic it was postponed to October with the winners announced as part of a virtual Scottish Transport Awards Summit

3. The awards were judged by:
• Transport Times Chief Executive and former government advisor Prof David Begg (Chair of the Judging Panel)
• Roy Brannen, Chief Executive, Transport Scotland
• George Hazel OBE, Director, George Hazel Consultancy
• Prof Iain Docherty, Dean, Institute for Advanced Studies, University of Stirling
• Laura Murdoch, Director of Bus, Accessibility and Active Travel, Transport Scotland
• Daisy Narayanan, Director of Urbanism, Sustrans