31 OCT
Westminster Park Plaza
Hotel, London, SE1 7UT


Winners of the National Transport Awards 2018

Transport Local Authority of the Year

WINNER: Southwark Council in partnership with Conway Aecom

City-Region Transport Authority of the Year

WINNER: Transport for Greater Manchester

Improvements to Bus Services

WINNER: The Liverpool City Region Combined Authority, Merseytravel, Arriva Merseyside, Stagecoach Merseyside, Cheshire and S. Lancs. Liverpool City Region Bus Alliance – Bucking the trend: delivering growth in partnership

HIGHLY COMMENDED: South Gloucestershire Council: Making rural links work

Excellence in Cycling and Walking

WINNER: Transport for Greater Manchester & Manchester City Council, Wilmslow Road and Oxford Road Cycleway

HIGHLY COMMENDED: LB Barking and Dagenham/Be First Regeneration Ltd/Sustrans - Marks Gate DIY Streets Project

Road Safety, Traffic Management & Enforcement

WINNER: Essex County Council, Extra Eyes, the Safer Essex Roads Partnership

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Scotland TranServ, Neatebox, Dynniq and Transport Scotland - Neatebox Button Pedestrian Application

Rail Operator of the Year

WINNER: Trenitalia c2c

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Strathclyde Partnership for Transport, SPT for Subway

Bus Operator of the Year

WINNER: Go South Coast

HIGHLY COMMENDED: National Express UK Coach

Lothian East Coast Buses

Ferry Operator of the Year

WINNER: CalMac Ferries

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Harwich Ferry Services

Airport of the Year

WINNER: Edinburgh Airport

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Newcastle International Airport

Rail Station of the Year

WINNER: Network Rail, London Bridge Station

Transport Supplier of the Year



Construction and Engineering Project of the Year

WINNER: FCBC and Transport Scotland's Employers Delivery Team, Queensferry Crossing

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Wessex Capacity Alliance Project - Waterloo Station Upgrade

Contribution to Sustainable Transport

WINNER: NATS, Acting Responsibly

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Jaguar Landrover Liftshare scheme, The largest carsharing scheme in the UK

Most Innovative Transport Project

WINNER: Transdev Blazefield, VAMOOZ

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Mott MacDonald, Motorway to Motorway (M2M)

Excellence in Technology

WINNER: ECR Retail Systems and National Express, National Express ECR Go2

HIGHLY COMMENDED: JustPark, Predictive Availability for parking

Transport Team/Partnership of the Year

WINNER: Department for Transport and Civil Aviation Authority, Monarch – How the CAA and DfT led Britain's largest peacetime repatriation

Excellence in Travel Information & Marketing

WINNER: Stagecoach East Scotland, Express City Connect

Employer of the Year

WINNER: Go South Coast

Apprentice Champion of the Year

WINNER: First Bus - First Bus Apprenticeship Programme

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Cubic Transport Systems, Apprenticeship Scheme

Frontline Employee of the Year

WINNER: Cameron Dyche, First Aberdeen

HIGHLY COMMENDED: David Chase, Essex County Council
Bob Connaway, Glasgow Airport Ltd
Charmaine Laurie, Lothian
Barbara Martin, London Borough of Hillingdon
Murdo McKinnon, Lothian, East Coast Buses
Margaret Skinner, First Scotland East
Steven Welsh, National Express West Midlands

Outstanding Contribution to Local Transport

WINNER: Nigel Blackler, Cornwall Council

Outstanding Contribution to National Transport

WINNER: Roy Brannen, Transport Scotland

Lifetime Contribution to Transport

WINNER: Stephen Joseph OBE


Significant investment is taking place in public transport across the UK. Over the last fifteen years, Transport Times has been at the forefront of recognising excellence, commitment and innovation in our industry

Sir Terry Morgan CBE