Westminster Park Plaza
Hotel, London, SE1 7UT


The judging panel for the 2019 National Transport Awards

2020 judging panel to be announced in due course. 

Professor David Begg

Professor David Begg
Chair of the Judging Panel and Chief Executive of Transport Times

Professor David Begg is Chief Executive of Portobello Partnership Ltd which specialises in strategic advice to clients in the transport sector; publishes Transport Times magazine; and runs a series of transport best practice awards in conjunction with the Department for Transport, Transport Scotland and Transport for London.

He is a non-executive board member of Heathrow Airport Holdings Ltd and is a member of the Cubic Transportation Systems’ Advisory Board. From 1999 to 2005 he chaired the Government’s Commission for Integrated Transport which was set up to advise the Government on transport policy and to monitor performance. He was a board member of Transport for London from 2000 to 2006 before joining Tube Lines as chairman (2006-2010). He was a non-executive director of the Strategic Rail Authority and before that British Rail. From 2005-2014 David was a Non-Executive Director of First Group Ltd.

Before moving to London he was Professor of Transport Policy at Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen. He is a visiting professor in Transport at Plymouth University. In the 1990s he was the political lead on transport on Lothian Region and then the City of Edinburgh councils.

Louise Ellman MP

Louise Ellman MP
MP for Liverpool Riverside

Louise Ellman was born in Manchester and has a BA Hons from Hull University and an MPhil from York University.

She worked in further education and at the Open University before her full-time political involvement. She was the leader of Lancashire Council from 1981 to 1997 and has been the Labour and Co-Operative MP for Liverpool Riverside since 1997.

Ms Ellman was the Chair of the House of Commons Transport Select Committee from 2008-2017. The committee has investigated a wide variety of transport issues including motor insurance, High Speed Rail, dealing with bad weather, the coastguard service and buses.

Her political interests include transport, local Government, the Middle East and human trafficking.

Lilian Greenwood MP

Lilian Greenwood MP
Transport Select Committee

Lilian Greenwood was elected as MP for Nottingham South in 2010, and was appointed to the Transport Select Committee in the same year. In 2011 Lilian became Shadow Local Transport Minister, before moving on to the role of Shadow Rail Minister in January 2013.

Lilian was promoted to the Shadow Cabinet in September 2015, becoming Shadow Secretary of State for Transport, and retained the Transport brief until her resignation in June 2016. During this time Lilian campaigned successfully for the widening of the A453 and extensions to Nottingham's tram network, and has been a strong advocate for electrification of the Midland Main Line.

Since July 2017 Lilian has been Chair of the Transport Select Committee where she remains committed to ensuring that the needs of all transport users are addressed, particularly those whose voices are least heard by decision-makers.

Claire Haigh

Claire Haigh
Chief Executive
Greener Journeys

Claire Haigh is Chief Executive of Greener Journeys, a coalition of the UK's major public transport groups and other supporters committed to encouraging people to make more sustainable travel choices. Her other current roles include: Director of the Low Carbon Vehicle Partnership, and Advisor on the Board of Transport for Greater Manchester. She is also a regular columnist for the monthly magazine Transport Times.

Claire was previously Project Director for Journey Solutions, where she was responsible for the creation and implementation of PLUSBUS – the national integrated bus/rail ticket. Other previous roles include Sales Director for the Chameleon Press printing company. She read History and German at Magdalen College Oxford, and began her career in advertising working as an Account Executive for DDB. Her interests include her work as an artist, for which she has had several solo exhibitions in central London. She also has links with a number of charitable organisations including CRISIS, for which she is a Community Ambassador.

She is Chartered Fellow (FCILT) of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport and a Fellow of (FRSA) of the Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufacturers & Commerce.

Anthony Smith

Anthony Smith
Chief Executive
Transport Focus

Anthony Smith is Chief Executive of Transport Focus, the independent consumer watchdog for Britain’s passengers.

Having qualified as a solicitor, Anthony worked for five years as principal consumer lawyer for the Consumers’ Association, publishers of Which? This was followed by a year as the legal consultant for Consumers International, a worldwide federation of consumer groups.

Prior to joining Transport Focus Focus, Anthony was deputy and acting director of ICSTIS, the regulator of premium rate telephone services.

Stephen Fidler

Stephen Fidler
Director for Local Transport
Department for Transport

Stephen is Director for Local Transport at the Department for Transport. His directorate is responsible for the Major Road Network, local roads, buses and taxis, inclusive transport, cycling and walking and local authority transport infrastructure projects. It also includes two analytical teams who work closely with their policy counterparts and produce influential statistics, evidence and analysis including the world-leading National Travel Survey.

Stephen has worked on transport issues across central government for over 20 years, including in the then Department for the Environment and the No 10 Policy Unit. Before starting his current role in June 2019, Stephen headed the department's client team for Highways England – leading on the £15bn Road Investment Strategy and major projects including the A14 Cambridge-Huntingdon and A303(Stonehenge) schemes.

Stephen received an OBE for services to transport in the 2019 New Year Honours List and is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Highways and Transportation.


Significant investment is taking place in public transport across the UK. Over the last fifteen years, Transport Times has been at the forefront of recognising excellence, commitment and innovation in our industry

Sir Terry Morgan CBE