The judging panel for the 2020 Scottish Transport Awards 

 Professor David Begg

Professor David Begg
Chair of the Judging Panel and Chief Executive of Transport Times

Professor David Begg is Chief Executive of Portobello Partnership Ltd which specialises in strategic advice to clients in the transport sector; publishes Transport Times magazine; and runs a series of transport best practice awards in conjunction with the Department for Transport, Transport Scotland and Transport for London.

He is a non-executive board member of Heathrow Airport Holdings Ltd and is a member of the Cubic Transportation Systems’ Advisory Board. From 1999 to 2005 he chaired the Government’s Commission for Integrated Transport which was set up to advise the Government on transport policy and to monitor performance. He was a board member of Transport for London from 2000 to 2006 before joining Tube Lines as chairman (2006-2010). He was a non-executive director of the Strategic Rail Authority and before that British Rail. From 2005-2014 David was a Non-Executive Director of First Group Ltd.

Before moving to London he was Professor of Transport Policy at Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen. He is a visiting professor in Transport at Plymouth University. In the 1990s he was the political lead on transport on Lothian Region and then the City of Edinburgh councils.

Roy Brannen

Roy Brannen
Chief Executive
Transport Scotland

Roy took over the role as Chief Executive in Transport Scotland on 5 November 2015. Prior to that he was the Director of Trunk Road and Bus Operations where he had responsibility for the management and operation of the Scottish trunk road network, some 3,500km in total for which his direct responsibilities include trunk road safety, delivering the annual maintenance programme effectively, the implementation and development of Intelligent Transport Systems, the maintenance of the trunk road bridges stock and commenting on proposals for development which might impact on the Trunk Road Network.

Roy's responsibilities also included the operation of Scotland's National Concessionary Travel Schemes, the Bus Service Operator's Grant and the development of a national Smart and Integrated Ticketing strategy.

Roy is a Chartered Civil Engineer and a member of the Institution of Civil Engineers with over 25 years experience in the field of highway engineering.

Professor Iain Docherty

Professor Iain Docherty
Dean, Institute for Advanced Studies
University of Stirling

Iain’s research and teaching addresses the interconnecting issues of public administration, institutional change and city and regional competitiveness, with particular emphasis on the structures and processes of local and regional governance, policies for delivering improved economic performance and environmental sustainability, and the development and implementation of strategic planning and transport policies.

His total research and consultancy awards in the last six years exceed £2 million, and he is currently Co-Director of the Scottish Cities Knowledge Centre and Co-Investigator on two major Research Council projects on sustainable transport and low carbon transitions.

Iain has worked with and advised a range of private sector, governmental and other organisations including governments and public agencies in the UK, US, Australia, Canada and Sweden, and the OECD. He served as Non-Executive director of Transport Scotland, the national transport agency for Scotland, from 2006 – 2010. Iain was appointed as one of the inaugural members of the Royal Society of Edinburgh's Young Academy of Scotland in 2011, and to the Expert Panel advising the North East Independent Economic Review in 2012.

Professor George Hazel OBE

Professor George Hazel OBE
MRC McLean Hazel

Dr Hazel is a Director of the George Hazel Consultancy, an Adjunct Professor at Queensland University of Technology and Chair of the Advisory Panel for the Transport Research Institute, Edinburgh Napier University.

He was a member of the UK Secretary of State for Transport’s Steering Group for National Road User Charging, chair of the World Roads Congress C10 Committee, researching urban areas and transport, chair of the Scottish Public Policy Unit’s Transport Commission and Chair of Transport 2000’s Forum on Revitalising Communities on Main Roads. In January 2005 he was awarded the OBE for services to transport. He is an expert on towns and city regions and has written a book on Making Cities Work, published by Wiley.

Previously he was Professor of Transport Policy at the Centre for Transport Policy where he looked after the consultancy business. From 1996 to 1999 he was Director of City Development for the City of Edinburgh Council responsible for planning, economic development, transportation and property.

Laura Murdoch

Laura Murdoch
Director of Bus, Accessibility and Active Travel
Transport Scotland

I joined Transport Scotland as Director of Bus, Accessibility and Active Travel (a newly created role) in September 2018. Before joining I had been working for many years in various roles at the Department for Education, most recently on delivering the free schools programme. As well as central UK and Scottish government, I have also worked for the Director of Children's Services at Tower Hamlets local authority in London on service review and improvement.

As Director of Bus, Accessibility and Active Travel I oversee the delivery of an ambitious policy agenda working with delivery partners and operators to improve sustainable, accessible transport options and get the travelling public back on the buses, walking, cycling and wheeling. We also operate the concessionary travel scheme for disabled and older people and are working with operators to ensure all journeys on Scotland's bus, rail, ferry, subway and tram networks can be accessed using some form of smart ticketing or payment.

Daisy Narayanan

Daisy Narayanan
Director of Urbanism for Sustrans
Secondment to the City of Edinburgh Council

Daisy Narayanan is the Director of Urbanism for Sustrans, currently on secondment to the City of Edinburgh Council to lead the Edinburgh City Centre Transformation programme.

In Sustrans, her role involves interweaving policy, public realm design and a broad integration of key place principles to help create liveable towns and cities, within the remit of Sustrans vision and mission. As Project Director in the City of Edinburgh Council, she is taking forward Edinburgh's aspirations to enhance the city centre as a world class place to live, work and visit.

Daisy is on the Board of Architecture & Design Scotland and a member of Scottish Government's Climate Challenge Fund panel. She was on the Active Travel Task Force set up by the Minister for Transport and the Islands.

Drawing on her previous experience working as an architect and urban designer in India, Singapore, England and Scotland, Daisy believes passionately in the importance of creating places for people: places that reflect and complement the communities that live in them.

A music aficionado, a bookworm and a linguist, Daisy spends her time enjoying the Scottish outdoors with her husband and two children. 


Transport Times is well known for providing unrivalled insight into the transport industry from thought leaders in the sector. The awards and events that the Transport Team produce have similar status as the best in the industry, and that's why we've been proud of First Group's involvement over the years in sponsoring numerous awards and why we will continue to support these events in the future

Tim O'Toole CBE

Former CEO, FirstGroup