The judging panel for the 2023 National Transport Awards

Anthony Smith

Anthony Smith
Chair of the Judging Panel and Chief Executive of Transport Focus

Anthony Smith is Chair of the judging panel and Chief Executive of Transport Focus, the independent consumer watchdog for Britain’s passengers.

Having qualified as a solicitor, Anthony worked for five years as principal consumer lawyer for the Consumers’ Association, publishers of Which? This was followed by a year as the legal consultant for Consumers International, a worldwide federation of consumer groups.

Prior to joining Transport Focus Focus, Anthony was deputy and acting director of ICSTIS, the regulator of premium rate telephone services.

Stephen Fidler

Stephen Fidler
Director for Local Transport
Department for Transport

Stephen is Director for Local Transport at the Department for Transport. His directorate is responsible for the Major Road Network, local roads, buses and taxis, inclusive transport, cycling and walking and local authority transport infrastructure projects. It also includes two analytical teams who work closely with their policy counterparts and produce influential statistics, evidence and analysis including the world-leading National Travel Survey.

Stephen has worked on transport issues across central government for over 20 years, including in the then Department for the Environment and the No 10 Policy Unit. Before starting his current role in June 2019, Stephen headed the department's client team for Highways England – leading on the £15bn Road Investment Strategy and major projects including the A14 Cambridge-Huntingdon and A303(Stonehenge) schemes.

Stephen received an OBE for services to transport in the 2019 New Year Honours List and is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Highways and Transportation.

Daisy Narayanan MBE

Daisy Narayanan MBE
Head of Placemaking and Mobility
The City of Edinburgh Council

Daisy Narayanan is the Head of Placemaking and Mobility at the City of Edinburgh Council where she leads on delivering a city-wide integrated approach to transport and placemaking.

Daisy is on the Board of Architecture & Design Scotland and a member of the Evidence Group for Scotland's Climate Assembly. She was on the Active Travel Task Force set up by the Minister for Transport and the Islands and is a member of the Scottish Transport Awards judging panel. She recently won the Civic Servant of the year award from the Academy of Urbanism.

Drawing on her previous experience working as an architect and urban designer in India, Singapore, England and Scotland, Daisy believes passionately in the importance of creating places for people: places that reflect and complement the communities that live in them.

A music aficionado, a bookworm and a linguist, Daisy spends her time enjoying the Scottish outdoors with her husband and two children.

Jo Field

Jo Field
President of Women in Transport & Chief Executive of JFG Communications

Jo is the President of Women in Transport and Chief Executive of JFG Communications, a consultancy specialising in stakeholder engagement, political communications, diversity and decarbonisation for the transport sector. Named among the 100 most influential women in Westminster and the top ten most inspirational women in public affairs, Jo has almost 20 years of experience in helping companies engage their stakeholders, build advocacy for their plans, and inform and influence public policy.

Before founding JFG Communications, Jo spent almost a decade at Transport for London where she built and led the company's award-winning stakeholder engagement team, building stakeholder support and advocacy for London's transport infrastructure and the funding to deliver it.

Jo is hugely passionate about addressing women's under-representation in the transport sector, is the co-author of Women in Transport's Gender perceptions and experiences working in transport report (published 2021), and led Women in Transport's engagement with parliamentarians to set up the first ever All-Party Parliamentary Group for Women in Transport in 2016.

Huw Merriman MP

Huw Merriman MP
Transport Select Committee

Huw grew up in Buckinghamshire where he attended local state schools and college. He read law at Durham University.

Huw qualified as a barrister and worked in a criminal practice in London. He then spent 17 years as an in-house banking and finance lawyer. His final position was as a Managing Director leading a team of lawyers unwinding the Lehman Brothers estate in Europe.

Huw spent 5 years as a trustee and volunteer in a youth charity set up following the Brixton riots and a further 5 years as a governor of a secondary school in London.

Huw moved to East Sussex in 2006. From 2007 to 2015 Huw served as the Wealden District Councillor for Rotherfield. He was elected as Member of Parliament for Bexhill and Battle in May 2015.

Huw was appointed Parliamentary Private Secretary to Ministers in the Department for Work and Pensions in July 2017 until August 2018 when he was appointed Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS) to Ministers in HM Treasury, and from December 2018 – July 2019 he was PPS to the Chancellor of the Exchequer.

Huw is the Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Bees and Pollinators, Chair of the BBC APPG, an officer of the Autism APPG, the vice Chair of the APPG on Knife Crime, Vice-Chair of APPG on Domestic Abuse and the Vice-Chair of the APPG for Fairtrade.

Having served as a member of the Transport Select Committee since 2015, Huw was elected Chair in 2020. The Committee's role is to scrutinise government and industry performance on national transport.

Caroline Stickland

Caroline Stickland
Chief Executive, Transport for All
Transport for All

As CEO at Transport for All, Caroline works to ensure the organisation is making an impact and delivering on its goals: challenging and removing the barriers to travel that are faced by Deaf, disabled and older people across the UK. Caroline brings her lived experience as a disabled person, and an academic interest in health, impairment, and disability, to her role. Alongside driving forward the organisation's advice, community and policy work, Caroline has led on the development of Transport for All's Access Partner consultancy service – providing disabled led consultancy support to the transport sector and leading a transformation of how disabled people are engaged with by decision makers.

Transport for All is the only disabled-led group striving to increase access to all modes of transport, and streetspace, across the UK. It is a pan-impairment organisation, advocating for every disabled person. Transport for All works with its members to fight for transport access, championing disabled and older people's rights and providing an unrivalled community of support.


Transport Times is well known for providing unrivalled insight into the transport industry from thought leaders in the sector. The awards and events that the Transport Team produce have similar status as the best in the industry, and that's why we've been proud of First Group's involvement over the years in sponsoring numerous awards and why we will continue to support these events in the future

Tim O'Toole CBE

Former CEO, FirstGroup