1 March 2018

Park Plaza Riverbank, SE1 7TJ

LTA: London Transport Awards

2 March

Park Plaza Riverbank London, SE1 7TJ


The judging panel for the 2018 London Transport Awards

Professor David Begg

Professor David Begg
Chair of the Judging Panel and Chief Executive of Transport Times
Transport Times

Professor David Begg is Chief Executive of Portobello Partnership Ltd which specialises in strategic advice to clients in the transport sector; publishes Transport Times magazine; and runs a series of transport best practice awards in conjunction with the Department for Transport, Transport Scotland and Transport for London.

He is a non-executive board member of Heathrow Airport Holdings Ltd and is a member of the Cubic Transportation Systems’ Advisory Board. From 1999 to 2005 he chaired the Government’s Commission for Integrated Transport which was set up to advise the Government on transport policy and to monitor performance. He was a board member of Transport for London from 2000 to 2006 before joining Tube Lines as chairman (2006-2010). He was a non-executive director of the Strategic Rail Authority and before that British Rail. From 2005-2014 David was a Non-Executive Director of First Group Ltd.

Before moving to London he was Professor of Transport Policy at Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen. He is a visiting professor in Transport at Plymouth University. In the 1990s he was the political lead on transport on Lothian Region and then the City of Edinburgh councils.

Janet Cooke

Janet Cooke
Chief Executive
London TravelWatch

Janet Cooke is chief executive of London TravelWatch, the multi-modal body representing transport users in and around London.

The watchdog uses its extensive evidence base drawn from feedback it gets from consumers and its own research to influence transport operators and key decision-makers to improve the journey experience for everyone travelling in London.

Katharina Winbeck
Head of Transport, Environment and Infrastructure.
London Councils

David Leam

David Leam
Infrastructure Director
London First

David has led London First's work across transport and infrastructure policy since 2010. He was previously a Special Adviser for three Transport Secretaries (Andrew Adonis, Ruth Kelly and Geoff Hoon) from 2007-10, over which period he advised on a range of issues from HS2 to Heathrow. Prior to this he was a civil servant at HM Treasury where he worked in the Productivity Team and on public spending. David has previously worked in think tanks and in public affairs. He is a regular commentator in national and London media on transport issues.


Significant investment is taking place in public transport across the UK. Over the last fifteen years, Transport Times has been at the forefront of recognising excellence, commitment and innovation in our industry

Sir Terry Morgan CBE

Chairman, Crossrail