London Transport Awards 2011 Winners Announced

Date: 29th April 2011


The people making a real difference to transport across London were recognised at the prestigious London Transport Awards in London last night with London Borough of Hounslow picking up the top award of the night for Transport Borough of the Year.  The Award for public transport operator of the year went to London Overground whilst the award for most improved transport borough award went to Ealing.  Cllr Archie Galloway OBE, Chair of the East London Line Group was also honoured for his outstanding contribution to local transport in London. 

Hosted by radio and television presenter Grant Stott, the awards saw 500 transport professionals gather at the prestigious ceremony at the Novotel, West London.

There was also a special award on the night for Outstanding Contribution to Transport Across London given to former MD of London Rail, Ian Brown to recognise a career spanning over 40 years in which he played an integral role in the development of Transport for London and the birth of London Overground.

Transport borough of the year, Hounslow, Winner of the ‘Most Improved Transport Borough’ in 2008, has gone from strength to strength implementing large numbers of major schemes for bus priority, cycling and walking all with tangible results. It has consolidated its achievements in road safety, workplace, school travel planning and smarter travel.

Over the past 12 months, customer satisfaction with LOROL has risen by 7%, train performance improved by almost 2% and passenger journeys increased by 60%. It also now has the most modern train fleet in the country with 23% more passenger capacity compared to previous trains. It has recruited and trained 132 new drivers, almost doubling driver numbers and has improved security with team of 20 Travel Safe Officers. It has also speeded up a station refurbishment programme and all stations are fully staffed.

Amey, Enterprise Mouchel, Ringways and TfL picked up the award for Transport Partnership of the Year for their HMWC and TfL Partnership.  The partnership between otherwise commercially competitive companies has resulted in collaborative working that has produced real benefits for TfL and London’s road users.

One of the most competitive awards on the evening was for most Innovative Transport Project of the year which went to Transport for London for the London Barclays Cycle Hire Project.  The ambitious and complex project was impressively brought to fruition with very few teething problems and early indications show over 30% have switched from road or rail.

Most improved transport borough Ealing, was recognised for progress across a wide range of policy areas - cycling investment has risen by 30% over the last 3 years, training facilities have been expanded by 40% and it has been awarded ‘Biking Borough’ status.  It has shown innovation and tangible results with its congestion relief programme.  Efforts in smarter travel has resulted in a 44% rise in cyclists since 2007 and an 18% increase in public transport use overall.  The number of pupils being driven to school has decreased by 12% and walking to school has increased by nearly 6.5%. The last year has seen a 5% reduction in total road casualties.

The London Transport Awards, in association with Transport Times magazine, were judged by Transport Times publisher Professor David Begg, Chair of the Judging panel and publisher of Transport Times; Janet Cooke,  Chief Executive, London Travel Watch; Nick Lester, Director of Transport, Environment and Planning, London Councils and Elsie Owusu OBE, Principal Partner of Fielden & Mawson.

Peter Hendy OBE, Transport Commissioner, Transport for London said:

Every day, TfL staff, our contractors, London’s boroughs and our other partners are working hard to meet these challenges. I strongly support these Awards and their role in marking the many achievements, and the ongoing commitment of the transport industry to keeping this great city moving.”  

The full list of award winners and those who were highly commended is as follows:

1  Most Effective Road Safety, Traffic Management & Enforcement Project sponsored by FirstGroup 

WINNER - Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea - Partnership operation targeting parking outside schools

HIGHLY COMMENDED - London Borough of Brent - Independent research demonstrating excellence in protecting the most vulnerable road users in Brent

2  Excellence in Travel Information & Marketing

WINNER - BAA Heathrow Commuter - Heathrow Commuter Team: Delivering Results Through Marketing

HIGHLY COMMENDED - Serco Docklands - Real Time Communications at Serco Docklands

3  Achievements in Cycling

WINNER - London Borough of Tower Hamlets Oceans 11: The Ocean Estate Women’s cycle programme

HIGHLY COMMENDED - London Borough of Bromley - Wheel Changes

HIGHLY COMMENDED - London Borough of Sutton - Smarter Travel Sutton

4  Excellence in Walking & Public Realm endorsed by Transport for London

WINNER - Southwark Council - Reclaiming the Streets Salisbury Row: the people’s project

HIGHLY COMMENDED - London Borough of Lambeth - Herne Hill Regeneration

HIGHLY COMMENDED - London Borough of Bromley - Orpington High Street Public Realm Improvements

5  Excellence in Technology and Innovation

Winner – Cubic Transportation Systems, TfL & ATOC - Oyster Extension to National Rail

6  Rail Station of the Year

Winner – TfL London Rail – South Quay Station

HIGHLY COMMENDED – LB of Merton, Southern & Network Rail – Mitcham Junction Station

7  Most Innovative Transport Project

WINNER - Transport for London Barclays Cycle Hire

HIGHLY COMMENDED - London Borough of Brent - Engaging a hard to reach community

8 Transport Team/Partnership of the Year

Winner – Amey, Enterprise Mouchel, Ringways and TfL - HMWC and TfL Partnership

HIGHLY COMMENDED - Morrison Utility Services - Borough High Street Blueprint

9 Contribution to Sustainable Transport sponsored by Bike Dock Solutions

WINNER - London Borough of Camden -A new take on freight deliveries -

HIGHLY COMMENDED - Olympic Delivery Authority - Olympic Park Construction Transport Sustainability

10  Road Streetworks Contractor of the Year Award endorsed by Transport for London

Winner – JSM Construction

11  LUL Customer Service Team of the Year Award endorsed by Transport for London

Winner – Kings Cross St. Pancras Station

12  Outstanding Contribution to Local Transport in London

Winner – Archie Galloway OBE, Chair of the East London Line Group

13  Outstanding Contribution to Transport across London

Winner – Ian Brown

14  Frontline Employee of the Year

WINNER - Phil Hiett, Dagenham Driver, First London Buses

HIGHLY COMMENDED - Andy Cutting, Line Information Specialist, London Underground

HIGHLY COMMENDED - Tim Pinn, Customer Service Assistant, London Underground

HIGHLY COMMENDED - Stephen Elliot, Uxbridge Driver, First London Buses

15  Young Transport Professional of the Year endorsed by Atkins

WINNER - Louisa Clarke, Manager, London Travel Awareness Team, LB of Lambeth

HIGHLY COMMENDED - Ben Wakerley, Willesden Junction Depot General Manager, FirstGroup

HIGHLY COMMENDED - David Walker, Head of Train Specification and Planning, Southern

HIGHLY COMMENDED - Joseph Sladen, Consultant, Colin Buchanan

HIGHLY COMMENDED - Glynn Barton, Chief Engineer - Network Performance, TfL London Streets

16  Most improved Transport Borough

Winner – London Borough of Ealing

17  Public Transport Operator of the Year

WINNER - London Overground Rail Operations

HIGHLY COMMENDED - National Express C2C

18  Transport Borough of the Year endorsed by Transport for London                     

Winner – London Borough of Hounslow


For further information contact:

Contact Grant Poulton

Tel: 0207 828 3804

Fax: 0207 828 3803


phototographs can be purchased at