Winners Announced at Scottish Transport Awards Ceremony


The best of Scotland’s transport industry were honoured at the prestigious Scottish Transport Awards last night. The ceremony was held at the Grand Central Hotel in Glasgow. Hosted by radio and television presenter Grant Stott, and now in their tenth year, the Awards recognise excellence, innovation and progress across all areas of transport.

The top award of the night, Scottish Transport Local Authority of the Year, was presented to Aberdeenshire Council. Aberdeenshire’s impressive, co-ordinated approach has achieved wide-ranging progress. The council’s work on road safety has helped to bring about the biggest ever reduction in casualty figures between 2010 and 2011. An approximate increase in cycling of 27% was recorded in Peterhead and of 113% in Westhill between 2010 and 2011 thanks largely to no excuse zones. 95% of Aberdeenshire’s 172 schools are engaged in the school travel planning process and 92% of council bus users remain satisfied with the overall service.

Scottish Public Transport Operator of the Year was won by ScotRail, who in the National Passenger Survey for autumn 2011 ScotRail outperformed the average for all UK train operators in 30 out of 33 categories. Overall customer satisfaction was up three points year on year to 89%, five points higher than the UK average for train operators and value for money scored 59%. FirstGroup’s franchise has been extended by three years to 2014.

Glasgow Airport were the winners in our newest category Airport of the Year.  By focussing on the customer’s needs Glasgow Airport posted a return to passenger growth in 2011 for the first time since 2006.  Almost seven million passengers travelled through the airport in 2011, representing an increase of 5.1% compared to the previous year.

The full list of winners and those who were highly commended is as follows:

  1. Excellence in Road Safety, Traffic Management and Enforcement Sponsored by FirstGroup

    Fife Council Working Together Reducing Speed Casualties

  2. Integrated Transport Project of the Year SPT Greenock Bus Station

  3. Best Practice in Travel to School and Work Schemes City of Edinburgh Council I Bike in Edinburgh

  4. Achievements in Cycling
    Cycling Scotland freshnlo Pedal for Scotland

  1. Excellence in Technology and Innovation sponsored by Techspan Systems Traveline Scotland and Traffic Scotland: Traveline Scotland smartphone apps

  2. Excellence in Travel Information & Marketing SPT Best Use of Social Media


    South Ayrshire Council Lighting the way for new cyclists

  3. Best Bus Service SPT My Bus

  4. Contribution to Sustainable Transport
    Glasgow City Council Glasgow Car Club Development


    North Howe Transition Toun Community Interest Company Paths to Transition: Rural Alternatives to Car Use

  5. Excellence in Walking & The Public Realm
    Atkins & Dundee City Council Dundee City Centre Pedestrian Wayfinding Scheme

  6. Transport Team/ Partnership of the Year
    First Aberdeen: State of the art learning centre

  7. Frontline Employee of the Year Ricky McLeod, ScotRail


    Adele Graham, Edinburgh Airport
    George Cowie, Kevin Douglas, Mike Frost, Anne Scott and John Sangster, Aberdeen Airport

  8. Innovative Transport Project of the Year
    Scottish Citylink Coaches - Sleeper Service

  9. Outstanding Contribution to Transport
    Ian Craig, Lothian Buses

  10. Lifetime Contribution to Transport
    Iain Gabriel

  11. Special Contribution to Local Transport
    Max Thompson

  12. Outstanding Infrastructure Project of the Year
    Transport Scotland M74 Completion Project & M80 Stepps to Haggs scheme

  13. Airport of the Year sponsored by Amber Valley
    Glasgow Airport

  14. Public Transport Operator of the Year

  15. Bus Operator of the Year
    Scottish City Link

  16. Transport Local Authority of the Year Sponsored by Scotrail
    Aberdeenshire Council


    For further information contact Transport Times Events Contact name: Grant Poulton
    Tel: 0207 828 3804

    Notes to editors

    1. The Scottish Transport Awards organised by Transport Times Events, are supported by the Scottish Government and Transport Scotland.

      The awards were judged by:

      Transport Times publisher and former government adviser Prof David Begg (Chair of the Judging Panel)

      David Middleton, Chief Executive, Transport Scotland
      Prof George Hazel OBE, Chairman of MRC McLean Hazel Ltd
      Prof Iain Docherty, Professor of Public Policy and Governance, Business

      School, University of Glasgow

    2. Photos of the event / winners are available via Simply Photography www.simply-