Scottish Transport Awards Winners Announced

Scottish Transport Awards 2009

The best of Scotland’s transport industry were celebrating tonight, as the results of the 2009 Scottish Transport Awards were announced at a ceremony in Glasgow.

Amongst the winners were Aberdeenshire Council, who scooped the sought-after Scottish Transport Local Authority of the Year award, and First in Glasgow, who were named Public Transport Operator of the Year.

Chair of the Awards Judging Panel and Publisher of Transport Times, Prof David Begg, said:

“This year’s Scottish Transport Awards has brought together and rewarded those who have shown real innovation, integration, effective partnership-working and delivered tangible results.

I am delighted to see colleagues from all sectors receive the recognition they deserve for their achievements which, in the current climate, have been even more hard won. Let us not forget too the key role transport can play in helping the economy emerge from this recession.

Thanks to everyone for your continued support of the Awards, helping to make the 2009 Awards a real success.”

The awards were hosted by Transport Times in association with event organisers, MacKay Hannah. Now in their seventh year, they recognise excellence and innovation across all fields of transport. This year’s awards were hosted by Grant Stott, radio and television presenter at Glasgow’s Radisson SAS Hotel.

The full list of winners is:

Road Safety, Traffic Management and Enforcement Award (Sponsored by FirstGroup)

Scottish Safety Camera Programme

Best Transport Integration Award

Fife Council

Best Practice in Travel to School and Work Scheme

Aberdeenshire Council and the Highland Council

Cycling Improvements Award

Fife Council

Excellence in Technology and Innovation Award

Argyll & Bute Council

Excellence in Marketing and Travel Planning Award


Best Bus Service Award

Arriva Scotland West

Contribution to Sustainable Transport Award (Sponsored by AEA Technology)

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Walking & the Public Realm Award

Renfrewshire Council

Transport Team/Partnership of the Year Award

Stagecoach West Scotland

The Frontline Employee of the Year Award

Jimmy McGrory, Arriva

Outstanding Contribution to Transport across Scotland

Mary Grant, ScotRail

Lifetime Contribution to Transport in Scotland

Eril Wilkie

Outstanding Contribution to Transport Research in Scotland

Steve Stradling, Napier University

The Scottish Public Transport Operator of the Year

First in Glasgow

The Scottish Transport Local Authority of the Year (Sponsored by Amey)

Aberdeenshire Council


Notes to editors

1) The Scottish Transport Awards hosted by Transport Times, are supported by the Scottish Government and Transport Scotland. The awards were judged by:

• Transport Times publisher and former government adviser Prof David Begg,

• Professor George Hazel, Managing Director of MRC McLean Hazel Ltd,

• Dr Iain Docherty Senior Lecturer/Director of MBA Programmes, University of Glasgow

• David Middleton, Chief Executive, Transport Scotland.

2) Photos of the are available from 1500 Photography website

Press contact: Jane Wilson, tel 0131 556 1500