Scottish Transport Awards 2010 Shortlist Announced


13th September 2010


The Best of Scottish Transport Short-listed for Prestigious Awards

Contact Details: Grant Poulton, Transport Times Events, 0207 828 3804

We are pleased to announce the short-list for The Scottish Transport Awards 2010.

The Awards, in association with Transport Times and supported by the Scottish Government and Transport Scotland will be presented on the 18th November 2010 at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow. 

The short list is as follows:


Scottish Transport Local Authority of the Year                            

Fife Council

Aberdeenshire Council



Best Bus Service                                                                                            

Hitrans - The Inverness Airport Jet Network

Fife Council - Bus Route Development Grant Service X42

First in Glasgow - 'Service X11 Lanarkshire Express- From Zero to Hero'

Aberdeenshire Council - Aberdeenshire's A2B

City of Edinburgh Council - Service 13


Advanced Road Safety, Traffic Management and Enforcement              

Glasgow City Council - Go Safe

Fife Council - 20 mph Campaign "Don't Tear the Heart out of Our Communities”

City of Edinburgh Council - Vehicle Activated Signs

Aberdeenshire Council - The Bus Stop! Campaign

South Lanarkshire Council - Route Action Plans                    


Best Transport Integration              

South Lanarkshire Council - Park & Ride Facility Carluke Railway Station

Fife Council - Bus Access to the New St Andrews Community Hospital

Dundee City Council - Dundee Travel Active

Nestrans, ACSEF, SDPA and Constituent Local Authorities - Joint working to develop integrated land use and transport policies       


Best Practice in Travel to School and Work Schemes                  

Scottish Borders Council – Green Feet Forward

Fife Council - Fife Council's Travel Plan and School Travel Plans

North Lanarkshire Council - Cumberlauld/St Andrews Primary Schools School Travel Plan


Cycling Improvements

South Ayrshire Council - Route Development 2002-2010

Fife Council - Culross to Longannet Cycleway

North Lanarkshire Council - Carrickstone to Craigmarloch, Cumbernauld, Phases I,II & III

Aberdeenshire Council - The Aberdeenshire Walking and Cycling Action Plan


Walking & The Public Realm

Glasgow City Council - Public Realm and Tourist Pedestrian Signage

City of Edinburgh Council - Edinburgh Grassmarket


The Public Transport Operator of the Year           


Stagecoach in Fife

McGills Buses

Caledonian MacBrayne- Hebridean & Clyde Ferries

Lothian Buses


Contribution to Sustainable Transport

Interlink M74 JV - M74 Completion Project

FirstGroup - DriveGreen

Pentland Ferries Limited - Impact of the new catamaran ferry MV Pentalina


Transport Project of the Year

Logica - Smart Ticketing Concessionary Travel Project

Morgan VINCI - Upper Forth Crossing at Kincardine

Nestrans - Laurencekirk station re-opening

BEAR Scotland – A92 Dock Street


Excellence in Technology and Innovation

Fife Council - Variable Lighting Programme

Logica - Smart Ticketing Concessionary Travel Project

Lothian Buses and City of Edinburgh Council - Bustracker

Amey - Reducing Risks at Road Works Sites

Aberdeenshire Council - E Scheduling School Transport Services

Arriva PLC- UK Bus - The M-ticketing project


The Best Transport Partnership of the Year          

Stagecoach Perth, Perth & Kinross Council & Aviva – Aviva Perth Public Transport Initiative

Stagecoach Bluebird and Aberdeenshire Council – Buchanan Link

Nestrans – The Getabout Partnership

South Lanarkshire Council - Park & Ride at Carluke Rail Station

Fife Council - Safer Transport Liaison Group

Scottish Transport Credit Union

Arriva - The Youth Bus and The Gym Bus                  


Excellence in Marketing and Travel Planning        

Fife Council - Rosyth Ferry/Bus Integration

First Scotrail - Sainsbury’s Partnership Promotion

Caledonian MacBrayne- Hebridean & Clyde Ferries

Lothian Buses – ‘Wish you were Here’ and ‘Zoom to the Zoo’

Falkirk Council –‘ Take the Right Route’ Personal Travel Planning

City of Edinburgh Council - Bustracker

Aberdeenshire Council – ‘No Excuse’ Zones

The Frontline Employee of the Year           

ScotRail - Willie Dickson

Fife Council - Graeme Ritchie

Edinburgh Airport - Carol Lawton

A further two awards by nomination will be presented on the night of the awards by the judges for: Outstanding Contribution to National Transport in Scotland; Young Transport Professional of the Year. 

The judging panel, chaired by Prof David Begg comprises:

Dr Iain Docherty, Senior Lecturer/Director of MBA Programmes, University of Glasgow

Professor George Hazel, Managing Director of MRC McLean Hazel Ltd

David Middleton, Chief Executive, Transport Scotland

For further information contact: Grant Poulton, Transport Times, 0207 828 3804 or by email