The best of Scotland’s transport industry were honoured last night at the 11th Annual  Scottish Transport Awards in front of 300 industry professionals.  Hosted by television presenter Hazel Irvine, the ceremony was held at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Glasgow.  Now in their eleventh year the Awards recognise excellence, innovation and progress across all areas of transport in Scotland.

The top award of the night, Scottish Transport Local Authority of the Year endorsed by ScotRail, was presented to Aberdeen City Council.  Scotland’s top authority for transport demonstrated that partnership working is at the core of their work. Working with the regional transport partnership, Nestrans, the council has developed initiatives such as the strategic transport fund and by the end of 2014 Aberdeen will have the largest fleet of hydrogen buses in Europe. Aberdeen is currently developing a sustainable urban mobility plan, a transport master plan for the city centre and its six arterial routes to maximise sustainable transport initiatives and lock in the benefits of the western peripheral route.

Scottish Public Transport Operator of the Year was jointly won by Caledonian MacBrayne and ScotRail.  In 2012 Caledonian MacBrayne made a number of high-level appointments to create a new senior management team and introduced new board members with a fresh perspective.  It has invested time, energy and money in partnership working to improve “lifeline” ferry services, raise the local tourism profile and improve the passenger experience.  A winner for the second year running, ScotRail has achieved record-breaking public performance measure ratings. Up from 90.7% in April 2012 to 93.7% in mid-January 2013. The number employed by ScotRail has risen 30% since the franchise started in 2004 and it is currently recruiting 18 trainee drivers for the forthcoming Borders railway.

BAM Nuttall won Rail Supplier of the Year endorsed by Network Rail for their collaboration and interface management as part of the Edinburgh-Glasgow improvement programme to minimise the impact on local residents. 

There were three personal awards given out on the night, firstly to recognise outstanding journalism in Scotland which was awarded to Damien Henderson for his work as transport correspondent at the Herald.  Secondly the Frontline Employee of the Year went to Stagecoach East Scotland Bus Driver Mike Reid for his excellent customer service skills and charity work.  The Lifetime Contribution to Transport was awarded to former communications manager at Virgin Trains Allan McLean not only for his work at Virgin but prior to that as transport correspondent at the Scotsman where he broke numerous exclusive stories and demonstrated an insightful understanding of the sector.


Full list of winners and commendations:-

Transport Local Authority of the Year sponsored by ScotRail                      

Aberdeen City Council


Best Bus Service                                                                                                                              

First Glasgow - Glasgow Shuttle Airport Link


Commended: SPT - Rural Lifeline Service 258 & 259 Lanark to Lesmahagow & Douglas/Glespin


Most Effective Road Safety, Traffic Management and Enforcement Project sponsored by FirstGroup                    

Fife Community Safety Partnership - Safe Drive Stay Alive


Integrated Transport Project of the Year                             

SPT - Hillhead Subway Station: A Showcase for Modernisation

Commended: Glasgow City Council - East End Regeneration Route


Best Practice in Travel to School and Work Schemes                      

Midlothian Council - Cycling Secondary Schools

Commended: Fife Council - Fife Council's Travel Plan


Achievements in Cycling

Aberdeenshire Council - Peterhead Cycle Demonstration Town

Commended: SPT - Cycling in Strathclyde


Excellence in Walking & the Public Realm sponsored by Clear Channel

Fife Council - Kirkcaldy Town Centre


Public Transport Operator of the Year  

Caledonian MacBrayne and ScotRail

Commended: Lothian Buses


Contribution to Sustainable Transport

Lothian Buses


Most Innovative Transport Project of the Year

Aberdeen City Council - Strategic Transport Fund


Excellence in Technology and Innovation sponsored by BAM Nuttall

Stagecoach East Scotland - Improving Relations Through Social Media


Transport Team/ Partnership of the Year

ScotRail and Network Rail - PaCE - Paisley Canal Electrification


Excellence in Travel Information & Marketing  

SPT - iShoogle App


Frontline Employee of the Year               

Mike Reid, Stagecoach East Scotland



Steven Godfrey, First Aberdeen

Raul Campos Falgado, Lothian Buses

Mike Edwards, First Aberdeen

Kenny Monaghan, Stagecoach Glasgow


Scottish Airport of the Year

Edinburgh Airport Ltd


Rail Restoration Project of the Year sponsored by IDP Architects

Balfour Beatty - Forth Bridge


Contribution to Transport Journalism in Scotland

Damien Henderson, former Transport Correspondent, The Herald


Lifetime Contribution to Transport in Scotland

Allan McLean, former Communications Manager, Virgin Trains


Rail Supplier of the Year sponsored by Network Rail

BAM Nuttall – Collaboration and Interface Management Brings Real Added Value


For further information contact Transport Times Events

Contact name: Grant Poulton

Tel: 0207 828 3804



Notes to editors

1.      The Scottish Transport Awards organised by Transport Times Events, are supported by the Scottish Government and Transport Scotland. 

2.      The awards were judged by:

·      Transport Times Chief Executive and former government advisor Prof David Begg(Chair of the Judging Panel)

·      David Middleton, Chief Executive, Transport Scotland

·      Prof George Hazel OBE, Chairman of MRC McLean Hazel Ltd

·      Prof Iain Docherty, Professor of Public Policy and Governance, Adam Smith Business School, University of Glasgow

3.      Photos of the event / winners are available via Simply Photography