Date: 12th October 2012


The people making a real difference to transport across the country were recognised at the prestigious National Transport Awards in London last night, with Nottingham City Council picking up the top prize of Transport Local Authority of the Year while Transport for Greater Manchester won Integrated Transport Authority of the Year. Rail Operator of the Year was won by c2c while Bus Operator of the Year was awarded to Metrobus: Surrey, Sussex and Kent. The Olympics Transport Coordination Centre was honoured for its success with the Outstanding Contribution to Transport award and The Times received the Media Campaign of the Year Award for its Cities Fit for Cycling campaign. Birmingham Airport won Airport of the Year with Stansted receiving a commendation.

Hosted by radio and television presenter Jeremy Vine, the awards were a complete sell out with 600 transport professionals attending the ceremony at the Park Plaza Riverbank Hotel.

Transport Local Authority of the year Nottingham City is widely recognised for its excellent transport infrastructure and has seen a 13% rise in public transport passengers since 2003. Congestion has also been contained since 2005. Its Workplace Parking Levy was launched in April and will be used to invest in extensions of its tram.

Hampshire was named as Transport County of the Year. The Transport for South Hampshire partnership has been a strong mechanism for securing government funding and for implementing cross-boundary transport solutions. It has also been effective for working with government departments and agencies as well as with bus operators. Transport District/ Unitary of the Year went to East Riding for it’s innovative approach to both short and long term transport issues and for providing bespoke transport strategies for each of its 14 main population centres.

ITA of the Year Transport for Greater Manchester’s major policy innovations successfully implemented in recent years, such as its Greater Manchester Transport Fund, are allowing real progress to be made on key projects.

Media Campaign of the Year - The Times - have elevated the importance of cycling safety at all levels of government from national and devolved government, all the way down to local government. Their transport correspondent, Phillip Pank-himself a keen cyclist- has written countless stories and editorials which have painstakingly highlighted the dangers faced by cyclists on Britain's roads and the extent to which they are vulnerable. It took the critical injury to one of their colleagues, on her cycle to work, to motivate "The Times" to back one of the best campaigns the transport sector has ever seen.

The much coveted Rail Operator of the Year was won by C2C for it’s strong operational performance, good customer relationship building and excellent customer satisfaction ratings. Bus Operator of the Year was won by Metrobus for its excellent ridership growth by being responsive and flexible to local needs.

This year’s Outstanding Contribution to Transport award was awarded to The Olympics Transport Coordination Centre. They proved all the cynics and preachers of doom wrong. At a time when our transport system was tested like never before this team exceeded all expectations. The transport legacy that has been left from the Games has made London a better city.

Birmingham Airport won Airport of the Year, it is one of the best connected airports by rail in the country. Its £13m one-terminal project was completed last year which, together with its £33m runway extension project that started this year, will dramatically improve capacity.

New Secretary of State for Transport Patrick McLoughlin MP handed over the Tom McCarthy Infrastructure Project of the Year award to Network Rail for the redevelopment of Kings Cross Station. This crucial redevelopment has transformed it into a 21st Century station, fully equipped to meet future passenger demand upward of 55 million people, while honouring the station’s Victorian history.

Transport Secretary Patrick McLoughlin said: “Good transport is vital – not just in helping us get around but also in driving economic growth, and central to an efficient transport network are the people who work day in day out to keep this country moving.

“These awards are a great opportunity to honour those within the sector who make all the difference, and I offer my warmest congratulations to them all.”

The full list of award winners and those who were highly commended is as follows:


Transport Local Authority of the Year sponsored by Atkins

Nottingham City Council

Transport City of the Year

Nottingham City Council

Transport County of the Year sponsored by RedRay Consulting

Hampshire County Council

Transport District/Unitary of the Year sponsored by Conway Aecom

East Riding of Yorkshire Council

Integrated Transport Authority of the Year

Transport for Greater Manchester

Dedication to Access for All

SYPTE and DfT team

Improvements to Bus Services sponsored by National Express

Reading Buses

Highly Commended:

Merseytravel – Merseyside Bus Board

West of England Councils - Greater Bristol Bus Network

Transport for Greater Manchester - Punctuality & Reliability Monitoring System and Code of Conduct

Achievements in Cycling

London Borough of Ealing - Direct Support for Cycling

Highly Commended:

Sheffield City Council in partnership with Get Cycling - Bikeboost

Road Safety, Traffic Management & Enforcement sponsored by FirstGroup Plc


Aberdeenshire Council - Improving Road Safety in Aberdeenshire

Excellence in Walking & Public Realm

Living Streets - Fitter for Walking Project

Rail Operator of the Year sponsored by Bombardier



Highly Commended:


Serco Docklands

Bus Operator of the Year sponsored by Amber Valley

Metrobus Surrey, Sussex and Kent

Rail Station of the Year

TfL, Green Park

Highly Commended:

Southern Railway, Balham

Lancashire County Council & Northern Rail, Accrington

Transport Consultant of the Year

Steer Davies Gleave

Airport of the Year

Birmingham Airport

Highly Commended:

Stansted Airport

Contribution to Sustainable Transport sponsored by Heathrow Airport Ltd

Southern Railway

Most Innovative Transport Project sponsored by Go-Ahead

Cambridgeshire County Council - Guided Busway

Highly Commended:

Heathrow Pod

Mace and Transport for London, The Emirates Air Line

Excellence in Technology

TfL - Legible London Mapping database

Highly Commended:

Masabi, Atos and Chiltern Railways - mTicketing

Transport Team/Partnership of the Year

HMG, High Speed 2 and DfT team

Highly Commended:

Centro, Coventry Bus Network Partnership

London Underground, Asset Performance Directorate - Lifts & Escalators Refurbishment Team

Travel Information & Marketing

TfL - Travel Demand Management for London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games

Highly Commended:

Traveline Scotland and Traffic Scotland - Traveline Scotland smartphone apps

Frontline Employee of the Year

Stephen Jessup-Peacock, c2c

Highly Commended:

Paul Studdart, Northern Rail

Corrine Dowden, Southern

Chris Mocko, Reading Buses

Derek Wright, First Cymru

Sylvia Rosewarn, Hampshire County Council

Jason Townsend, Blackburn Station - Northern Rail

Outstanding Contribution to Transport

Olympics Transport Coordination Centre

Media Campaign of the Year

The Times - Cities Fit For Cycling

Tom McCarthy Infrastructure Project of the Year sponsored by Bechtel

Kings Cross Station

Notes to editors:

Judging panel chaired by Professor David Begg, Chief Executive, Transport Times

Judges include:-

  • John Dowie, Director, Regional and Local Transport Policy, DfT
  • Andy Southern, Managing Director of Transport and Planning, Atkins
  • Anthony Smith, Chief Executive, Passenger Focus

For further information contact:

Contact Grant Poulton

Tel: 0207 828 3804

Fax: 0207 828 3803



Photographs can be purchased at